Welcome 2012

Standard

Another year, another fresh start.  I’m excited to see what this year has in store for us.  Last year was draining – emotionally and mentally from work.  However, it was a growing year for me spiritually as well.  Here’s a recap…

January – Tim turns the BIG 3-0!  I’m am very plagued with morning sickness (at this point, about 10 weeks along).

February – Still plagued with morning sickness, managing through work though, celebrated my 28th birthday.

March – Spring Break – WOO HOO!  Also feeling somewhat “better.”

April – Got some yard work done!  Threw a surprise birthday party (sweet 16) for my sister-in-law, Mollie.  Also made some Death by Chocolate cupcakes, YUM!

May – DONE with the 2010-2011 school year.  It was kind of a sad year, and not so much sad that I wouldn’t see these students anymore, but it was just a very discouraging year.  I am so thankful for my women’s group this year.  I was so encouraged and strengthened so many times, when I felt like work just really had me down.

June – Bring on summer break!  Getting stuff done/ready for Baby Olivia to arrive.  Tim returned to Office Max to pick up some extra hours.

July – Threw a Spiderman bash for our little man early in case Olivia decided to come early.  Well, she came early, not that THAT early, but she came FAST!  First contraction around 8ish, and I was holding her by 9:30.  I almost delivered in the elevator!  The week I returned home, Tim ended up on a gnarly trial for 3 weeks!!!!

August – Mixed feelings.  August marked 1-year I had miscarried.  However, it’s hard to process because if I hadn’t miscarried, I would not have had sweet Olivia, and I would not give her up for anything.  On maternity leave.

September – Celebrated our 5th anniversary.  Got a really pretty bracelet from Tim (search for Trollbeads).  I returned to work the Monday after our anniversary.  Leadership training.  Also started women’s Bible study – I get to participate as an assistant leader this year.

October – Made Natty’s Rapunzel costume this year, came out good for my first attempt at sewing a dress.  Also started practice for Natty’s Christmas program – her first time in it this year!

November – Celebrated Natty’s 4th birthday, Tangled-style.  Tim’s dad came over during Thanksgiving break to enclose one of our rooms into Tim’s office.

December – Attended Natty’s Christmas program, SUPER cute!  CHRISTMAS!!!  We went to Orange County, Santa Ana, back home, and to Corona.  Sounds like A LOT of driving.  I am just thankful most of our families live within driving distances.  We also started tackling some housing projects.  By “we” I actually mean Tim. 🙂  He had to do the brunt of the work.  We now have a freshly painted living room (took off the tacty, ugly wood paneling around our patio door).

As you can see, we pretty much keep busy with church, the kids, and our little house.  A big deal for me this year has been learning contentment.  Especially with this day and age, things are just plain rough!  The economy just doesn’t seem to be getting better.  We get so discouraged sometimes waiting to see when Tim will get the full-time professorship.  It’s hard waiting.  It’s also hard to not get bitter.  But again, and again, the Lord provides – in the weirdest of ways sometimes – but in just the most perfect ways.

I’m not really into resolutions, but below are things I’d like to accomplish for 2012.

1.  Pay off our little Saturn, so we can start shopping for a larger vehicle.  Got our eyes on the Acadia.

2.  Build up our savings.

3.  Take an actual “VACATION” with the kids.  We have never gone anywhere, as in overnight trips, with the kids.  Our last “vacation” would have been our honeymoon cruise to Ensenada.

4.  Paint the kids  rooms (Natty & Olivia’s will be an Olivia the Pig theme; Nathan’s will be Spiderman).

5.  Stay in God’s word DAILY – outside of Bible study.

2 responses »

  1. Wow what a year right? Hopefully this year is smoother for you, and that’s awesome that you have 2012 goals all lined up. Oh and thanks so much for our gifts! I love Chococat! Too cute. And Matt & Chloe really likes their gifts too. You’re so sweet. 🙂

Leave a comment